This forum is for discussion about content found on https://apolloinrealtime.org 

Very little of the thousands of hours of Mission Control audio on the website has been heard or documented. As you find moments of interest, post them here for discussion.

Author Topic: Apollo 13 TELMU audio loop blank?  (Read 870 times)

Offline MadDogBV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Apollo 13 TELMU audio loop blank?
« on: March 15, 2020, 07:47:00 pm »
The TELMU audio loop for Apollo 13 during the time of the crisis (e.g. at the beginning of Lunney's shift in the MOCR at the roughly 57-hour mark) seems to be totally blank. I find this a bit hard to believe since at this point TELMU is extremely active in making sure Aquarius gets powered up to support the crew. Is this an error, or was the TELMU audio loop actually blank at this point in the mission?

Offline daniel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Apollo 13 TELMU audio loop blank?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2020, 08:37:34 pm »
Hi,
Just a quick note to say that you're not the only one experiencing this. I thought it was a glitch/streaming error on my end, but apparently not.

Daniel

Offline Sturmf1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Apollo 13 TELMU audio loop blank?
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2020, 04:36:40 pm »
Something seems to be mixed up there. The TELMU audio seems to be very often on the CONTROL loop, named LM GNC, while the actual CONTROL audio is missing. Realised this also later, about GET 068 hours, when Bob Heselmeyer, who was originally in Kranz ' shift and now worked with Griffin, as Kranz had "stolen" Bill Peters, can be heard on the CONTROL loop.

Offline bfeist

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Apollo 13 TELMU audio loop blank?
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2020, 05:51:21 pm »
Hi everyone. Yes, unfortunately that track was not digitized on the original playback. We plan to run the tape through one more time in order to capture it properly this time.

As for the audio being mixed up at various parts of the mission, yes, you're not going crazy, this is happening. We believe the old tape machine isn't properly tracking the tape, causing it to wander across channels. There is a pending fix for this but again, will take time. The best thing to do right now is to check the adjacent channels if you think you're hearing the wrong channel.